Department of Political Science Undergraduate Awards and Scholarships 2023-2024 Winners

PRIZE NAME	PRIZE DESCRIPTION	RECIPIENT NAME
Alexander Mackenzie Scholarships in Economics and Political Science	Awarded to a second or third year student who is enrolled in a program offered by the Department of Political Science who has completed at least two full course equivalents in Political Science in the session for which the award is made.	Farah Sobhy Mohamed
Andrew Nigrini Sr. Memorial Scholarship in Political Science	Awarded to a second year outstanding student in the specialist program in Political Science.	Dean Robert Tessaro
Brian Mulroney Award	Awarded to a student who, among the eligible students has received the highest mark in ECO 231H (Economics of Global Trade), ECO 232H (Global Macroeconomics and Policies) or HIS 264H (Critical Issues in Canadian History) or POL 214H (Canadian Government).	Yuehang Ma
Canadian International Council Book Prize	Awarded to outstanding students completing POL 208H (Introduction to International Relations).	Victoria Elizabeth Kanczula William Wang

PRIZE NAME	PRIZE DESCRIPTION	RECIPIENT NAME
Citizen Lab Award	Awarded to an outstanding student who has completed a POL course(s) at the University of Toronto and who was a summer intern in the Citizen Lab, an interdisciplinary laboratory based at the Munk School of Global Affairs.	
David Rayside Undergraduate Scholarship	Awarded to students enrolled in a POL Major or Specialist program. Selection is based on academic achievement, financial need, and demonstrated commitment to and leadership in co- curricular activities, on or off campus, that promote greater public understanding of social and cultural diversity and enhanced inclusion of historically marginalized populations; for example racialized minorities, women, Indigenous communities, immigrants and refugees, people with disabilities, sexual minorities.	Helia Karami Nathan Li Amareena Saleh-Singh Luis Sanchez Tasiana Shirley
DEPARTMENTAL STUDENT SUPPORT FUND	Awarded to provide support to one or more students enrolled in a POL Major or Specialist program at the discretion of the Department of Political Science.	
Elisabeth Wallace Undergraduate Scholarship	Awarded to a second, third, or fourth year student enrolled in a major or specialist program in Political Science. Eligibility requires a minimum departmental average of 70%, with a minimum of two Political Science credits taken within the previous academic year. Awarded based primarily on financial need. Individual students will be considered in successive years, during their term of eligibility.	Isabella Victoria Reny

PRIZE NAME	PRIZE DESCRIPTION	RECIPIENT NAME
Frank Peers Undergraduate Scholarship	Awarded to one or more students entering second year and enrolled in a POL Major or Specialist program. Preference is given to students based on academic achievement and financial need from historically marginalized communities, for example those from racialized minorities, Indigenous communities. Open for renewal in subsequent years providing GPA maintained of 3.0 overall and 3.3 in PS courses.	Camila Calderon-Cruz Itay Elkoubi Jolie Gan Cara Yun
Frederick G. Gardiner Scholarship In Economics and Political Science	Awarded to a third year outstanding student enrolled in two of the following specialists and/or majors: Economics, Political Science, Public Policy	Farah Sobhy Mohamed
J. Stefan Dupre Memorial Scholarship in Canadian Politics	Awarded to third or fourth year students enrolled in a Specialist or Major program in the Department of Political Science on the basis of excellence in academic achievement. Students must have completed POL 214H and other Canadian politics courses, for a total of 2.0 FCEs in Canadian Politics.	Cathalyn Francis Lawrence Vincent King Young Luk Zoha Mahroof
Jules and Elaine James Scholarship in Political Science	Awarded to a fourth year student who is enrolled in the Specialist Program in Political Science. Financial need and academic merit will be considered.	Ashviin Ahilesan

PRIZE NAME	PRIZE DESCRIPTION	RECIPIENT NAME
Louis W. Pauly Award for International Study	Awarded to one or more third or fourth year undergraduate students enrolled in a Political Science program to provide financial support for international study or internship. Academic merit and financial need may be considered.	Tshephiso Gaamangwe Julia Gavieta
Margaret J E White Scholarship	Awarded to outstanding third or fourth year students who are enrolled in a program offered by the Department of Political Science, who have completed at least 2.0 full course equivalents in Canadian politics, including POL 214H (Canadian Government) or POL 224H (Canada in Comparative Perspective).	Cathalyn Francis Zoha Mahroof
Mary Keenan Award	Awarded on the basis of academic merit and financial need to a student who has successfully completed the first year in the Faculty of Arts and Science who has enrolled in a Specialist Program in Political Science.	Narges Baheej Youyou Xu
Professor Frank Peers Award for International Study & Experience	Awarded to two or more students enrolled in a POL Major or Specialist program who wish to study abroad or take up an internship (or similar opportunity) for a semester (or potentially up to a year). Award is based on academic merit and/or financial need.	Mariana Deganis Silva Gola Juliana Diradour Jolie Gan Avishka Gautham Julia Erika Gavieta Vaanya Hassan Kaiya Nixon Daniel Prasuhn Amareena Saleh-Singh

PRIZE NAME	PRIZE DESCRIPTION	RECIPIENT NAME
Rabbi Isserman Prize	The award will be made on the basis of a 3,000-word essay upon a subject connected with International or Interracial Relations and judged by the Chairs of Political Science and Sociology.	
Richard Iton Bursary	Awarded to (a) full-time, undergraduate student(s) at the University of Toronto on the basis of financial need. Funds will support students in the Department of Political Science from any of the three campuses, with a preference for alternating years: Faculty of Arts and Science, the University of Toronto – Mississauga, and the University of Toronto – Scarborough.	Mitchall James Gordon
Stephen Clarkson Scholarship in Political Economy	Awarded on the basis of academic merit or financial need to undergraduate student(s) in Political Science.	Max Elliot Korzen Zakaria Ahmednassir Muse Rayyan Noman Akshita Sangha
Susanne and Edwin Goodman Prize	Awarded to the graduating student who has attained the highest academic standing in the Specialist Program in Political Science.	Ciara Rose McGarry

PRIZE NAME	PRIZE DESCRIPTION	RECIPIENT NAME
The Clarence Redekop Memorial Award in International Relations	Awarded to the student who has achieved the highest mark in the first course in the undergraduate program for International Relations, POL 208H1 Introduction to International Relations.	Eileen Ou
The J. Stefan Dupre Book Prize	Awarded to a second year outstanding student with an 'A' in POL 214H (Canadian Government) or POL 224H (Canada in Comparative Perspective).	Rein Fredrick Maynard
The Michael J. Kyne Award	Awarded to an outstanding student, for the best essay in POL 200Y (Political Theory: Visions of the Just/Good Society).	Maia Christena Hagen-Rattan
The Paul L. Nathanson Scholarship	Awarded to an outstanding third year student whose program includes at least three full courses in Political Science. Financial need is taken into account.	Mariana Deganis Silva Gola

PRIZE NAME	PRIZE DESCRIPTION	RECIPIENT NAME
The Reset Scholarship in Social Media and Democracy	To be awarded to a student who successfully completes POL106H based on AGPA with preference for a student who is Black or Indigenous	Success Achu
The Ruth Robinson Leberg Book Prize	Awarded to outstanding students who have completed POL 208H (Introduction to International Relations) with grade 'A' standing.	Lara Devotto Pimenta Eileen Ou